Abel Alvarado Attorney
An important fact to know is that all public and private employers in Colorado, with limited exceptions, must provide workers’ compensation coverage for their employees.
This exists to look after the employee’s interest and safety that is why this are some of the points that are stated by the Colorado workers’ compensation act in case of a work accident:
The employee has 4 days to give written notice of work-related injury to employer (to receive maximum benefits) (Sec. 8-43-102); If the employee is physically or mentally unable to provide said notice, the employee’s foreman, superintendent, manager, or any other person in charge who has notice of said injury shall submit such written notice to the employer
If the employer passes the 4 day notice he may still file a claim for benefits even if he is late reporting the injury. However, if doesn’t report the injury to the employer in writing within 4 working days, it may be penalized and lose up to one day’s compensation for each day’s delay, if the employer has posted a sign requiring the 4 days’ written notice. If the employee is physically or mentally unable to file a written report within the specified time frame, it may be filed on his behalf by another person who has notice of your injury.
Employer Rights & Obligations
Employers required by law to provide workers’ compensation insurance for all employees, with limited exceptions and must report injury within 10 days (Sec’s. 8-43-101 & 103)
The employer should file a report of the injury (Employer’s First Report of Injury) with its insurer within 10 days of the injury. This will start the workers’ compensation claim. The employer should also provide with its designated provider list should it choose to designate a provider.
if the injury results from the use of alcohol or controlled substances, your workers’ compensation disability benefits may be reduced by one-half in accordance with section 8-42-112.5, Colorado revised statutes.